Shared mailboxes don't need a license unless the mailbox has over 50GB of data. Follow these instructions to remove a license from a shared mailbox so that you can either assign it to a user or return the license so that you aren't paying for a license you don't need.

Need help setting this up?

If you'd rather not deal with the technical side, we can fully set up and manage your Microsoft 365 for you — including email, DNS, and ongoing support.

See how we can help →

Remove the license

 Tip

Need help with the steps in this topic? We’ve got you covered. Make an appointment at your local Microsoft Store with an Answer Desk expert to help resolve your issue. Go to the Microsoft Stores page and choose your location to schedule an appointment.

  1. In the admin center, go to Users > Active users.

     Note

    You'll need to remove the license from the Active users page. You can't remove the license from the Shared mailbox page because licenses are user settings.

  2. Select the shared mailbox to view the user details.

  3. Next to Product licenses, select Edit.

  4. Toggle the license Off, and then select Save.

  5. When you return to the Active users' page, it may take a few minutes for the user's status to refresh to Unlicensed.

Next steps

After you've removed the license, you can do the following:

Remove licenses from your Office 365 for business subscription

Assign licenses to users in Office 365 for business


Related Guides

Prefer us to handle this?

We provide fully managed Microsoft 365 setup and support — so you can focus on running your business.

Get started with Microsoft 365 →

這篇文章有幫助嗎? 0 用戶發現這個有用 (0 投票)